April 2014

The San Antonio Conference was a big hit! With well over 100 attendees and papers, a great time was had by all.  Outgoing president Mike Lahr gave his address, raising many interesting research challenges for regional scientists.   In addition to a session on publishing with editors from The Review of Regional Studies, Journal of Regional Science, Letters in Spatial and Resource Sciences, Growth and Change, and Journal of Regional Analysis and Policy, we gave several awards:

  • James P. LeSage was named a Fellow, and gave a talk on the current state of the art of Spatial Econometric Modeling
  • Marian Manic (University of South Carolina) and Zheng Tian (West Virginia University) were awarded from the Barry M. Moriarty Graduate Paper Competition
  • Zhenhua Chen was awarded the Miernyk Medal for Research Excellence for Junior Faculty
  • Santiago Pinto was given the William Schaffer Award for Distinguished Service to the SRSA (and also named incoming president and 2015 program chair.)

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.