The William H. Miernyk Research Excellence Medal

The William H. Miernyk Research Excellence Medal (the Miernyk Medal) is awarded annually to an eligible author of the best paper presented at the annual meeting of the Southern Regional Science Association. The winning paper will report the diligent and systematic enquiry and discovery of facts and principles relating to a topic of interest to regional scientists.

Eligibility. To be eligible, a Miernyk Medal candidate must

  • Be the driving intellectual force behind the paper and its primary contributor,
  • Not be eligible for the Moriarty student paper competition,
  • Be no more than six years post-Ph.D.,
  • Hold a position at a rank no higher than Assistant Professor or equivalent, and,
  • Be registered for the annual meeting and in attendance at the SRSA Awards Banquet.


Submission. Submission letters must include documentation of meeting registration. Papers should be submitted via email to [email protected] by the end of the fourth Friday in February of the competition year.

Decision. The Miernyk Medal winner will not be announced prior to the Awards Banquet at the annual meeting. The winner will be determined by consensus of the review panel, which may elect not to make an award in the absence of a consensus. The winner receives a commemorative medal and a cash award in the amount of $1500.

Previous Recipients of the Miernyk Medal:

  • Santiago Pinto, West Virginia University, 2005
  • Shaoming Cheng, West Virginia University, 2006
  • Olivier Parent, University of Cincinnati, 2008
  • Zhenhua Chen, George Mason University, 2014
  • John V. Winters, Oklahoma State University, 2015
  • Carlianne Patrick, Georgia State University, 2016
  • Alexandra Tsvetkova, The Ohio State University, 2017
  • Tessa Conroy, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2020
  • Joao-Pedro Ferreira, University of Florida, 2021