Barry M. Moriarty Graduate Paper Competition

Papers due by February 7, 2023

The Southern Regional Science Association (SRSA) awards an annual cash prize to the graduate student submitting the best paper in Regional Science. In 2023, the prize will be $1,000.

Papers on any Regional Science topic may be entered into the competition. Papers should represent original research. Maps, illustrations and other audio-visual materials should be designed or constructed by the author.

The following qualifications apply:The student must be enrolled full-time at an accredited academic institution for some, or all, of the year;

  • The graduate student must still be enrolled at the time his or her paper is submitted (i.e., spring 2022);
  • The student must be the sole author and must be sponsored by a member of SRSA; and
  • The winning student must present the paper at a session of the Annual Meeting of the SRSA, using the award to defray costs of attending.

Papers should be double-spaced, no more than 25 pages in length, and written in the style of the SRSA’s Review of Regional Studies. A cover page should include the paper’s title and abstract and, for both the author and the sponsor, full names, addresses, telephone numbers, and e-mail addresses. The cover page should also affirm the student meets the qualifications above.

Submission. Submitted papers must include documentation of meeting registration. Papers should be submitted via email to Matt Fannin, Louisiana State University, Graduate Paper Honors Chair, by the end of February 7, 2023. You will receive a confirmation email.

Applicants for the Moriarty Graduate Paper Competition should also submit their paper abstracts using the regular conference submission portal. When submitting, on the first line of the abstract, type “Moriarty Graduate Paper Competition.” In this way, the program chair will hold enough slots for all applicants on the program.”

Previous Recipients of the Moriarty Award:

  • Sultana Fouzia, Oregon State University, 2021
  • Brandon Genetin, The Ohio State University, 2020
  • Tyler Morin, The Ohio State University, 2019
  • Jing Chen, West Virginia University, 2018
  • Daniel Crown, The Ohio State University, 2017
  • Rodrigo A. Perez-Silva, The Ohio State University, 2017
  • Renata Caldas, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, 2016
  • George Mawuli Akpandjar, University of Mississippi, 2015
  • Marian Manic, University of South Carolina, 2014
  • Zheng Tian, West Virginia University, 2014
  • Annie Walker, West Virginia University, 2013
  • Christa Jensen, West Virginia University, 2012
  • Carlianne Patrick, The Ohio State University, 2011
  • Juan Sebastian Leguizamon, West Virginia University, 2010
  • Brian Piper, University of Oklahoma, 2009
  • Johnathan Munn, University of South Carolina, 2008
  • Robert Dunn, West Virginia University, 2007
  • Diehang Zheng, University of Southern California, 2006
  • Lei Ding, George Mason University, 2005
  • Guang Yang, George Mason University, 2004
  • Up Lim, University of Texas at Austin, 2003
  • Kyojun Koo, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 2002
  • Qingshu Xie , George Mason University, 2001
  • Garen Evans, Texas A&M University, 2000
  • Robert Greenbaum, Ohio State University, 1999
  • Mark L. Burkey, Duke University, 1998
  • Ben P. Cecil, University of Western Ontario, 1997