2016 Barry M. Moriarty Graduate Paper Competition
Papers due by March 1st, 2016

The Southern Regional Science Association (SRSA) awards an annual cash prize to the graduate student submitting the best paper in Regional Science. In 2016, the prize is $1,000.

Papers on any Regional Science topic may be entered into the competition. Papers should represent original research. Maps, illustrations and other audio-visual materials should be designed or constructed by the author.

 The following qualifications apply:

  • The student must be enrolled full-time at an accredited academic institution for some or all of the year following March 2016. The graduate student must still be enrolled at the time his or her paper is submitted;

  • The student must be the sole author and must be sponsored by a member of SRSA; and

  • The winning student must present the paper at a session of the 55th Annual Meeting of the SRSA, March 31- April 2, 2016, in Washington, DC, using the award to defray costs of attending.

Papers should be double-spaced, no more than 25 pages in length, and written in the style of the SRSA’s Review of Regional Studies. A cover page should include the paper's title and abstract and, for both the author and the sponsor, full names, addresses, telephone numbers, and e-mail addresses.

A copy of the paper must be submitted via e-mail to Dan Rickman (dan.rickman@okstate.edu), 2016 Graduate Paper Honors Chair.

Deadline for submission: March 1, 2016.

If you need an extension of a few days past this deadline, contact Dr. Rickman to see if he can accommodate you.

Previous Recipients of the Moriarty Award:



Some previous award